Meet the Comforter

 

So how does God speak to us? I have always been amused by people who mimic God’s voice; usually they make it sound like the voice of an old man, very deep and slow. Others make it look as if God is incoherent. Well, I don’t mind, however it sounds like, let it be real. Please don’t seek a special effect; ask God to speak to you in the language you understand.

God can speak to us in a still small voice, in other words, we hear God speak to our spirit man. This voice will be audible within you, but it is clear and understandable. There may not be anything unusual about it. It may be like the voice of the human spirit but in this case you know that, this is not a just mind activity and it is not an imagination. You just know that someone said something to you.

I have tried in a previous post to distinguish the voice of God from other voices that may confuse you. God’s voice doesn’t need to be terrific. Many people miss it here because they are looking for an awesome voice. I will give you a simple example. There was a day, long time ago, I bought a bottle of Coca-Cola, after pouring the drink, as I lifted the cup to drink, I heard a voice say to me “look at the drink”. It was very clear to me that I heard a voice. When I looked, I saw an object in the drink. Some of the remains were still in the bottle. Well, I don’t know what would have happen if I just emptied the whole content into my bowels but I believe I was saved some troubles.

The Scripture says in 1 Kings 19:11-15 “Then He said, “Go out, and stand on the mountain before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore into the mountains and broke the rocks in pieces before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind; and after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake; and after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire a still small voice. So it was, when Elijah heard it, that he wrapped his face in his mantle and went out and stood in the entrance of the cave. Suddenly a voice came to him, and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” And he said, “I have been very zealous for the Lord God of hosts; because the children of Israel have forsaken your covenant, torn down your altars, and killed Your prophets with the sword. I alone am left; and they seek to take my life.” Then the Lord said to him: “Go, return on your way to the Wilderness of Damascus; and when you arrive, anoint Hazael as king over Syria.” (NKJV

Elijah had his expectation of how God was going to appear to him but it did not just happen that way. When “God eventually showed up” he spoke to him in the still small voice.

Many people spend time getting acquitted with this way that God uses to speak to us. I did too. There were times, especially when I was young in the faith, in the fellowship people were given opportunities to say what God led in their heart, I was naïve and there were times when God told me something but I did not talk; God raised someone else who said exactly what God wanted me to say. Of cause I felt disappointed that “I disobeyed God” but God was not angry with me, I was just learning. I became more confident with time but “never too bold”. Some time ago, I was ministering in an evening meeting and God told me he was going to bless someone with a car (I was a pastor at this time). I looked around and was wondering who that could be (not my business really); I just said it; the following week, during the testimony time, a man who was in that meeting came forward to testify how God miraculously blessed him with a car. I always try to make sure I hear from God before saying so.

You can have this experience too like many other people. One important thing is to continually give yourself to prayers. Hearing from God, for me, does not call for arrogance or being unruly; I have seen people who abuse this privilege and got into trouble. Actually hearing from God is the beginning of the process; it is obedience that makes him glad.

“Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, “If you abide in my word, you are my disciples indeed.” John 8:31 (NKJV)

 

Reference:

All Bible quotes are from http://www.biblegateway.com

 

 

Comments on: "Hearing from God – The Still Small Voice" (1)

  1. […] Hearing from God – The Still Small Voice (hspcomfort.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

