Meet the Comforter

English: John the Baptist baptizing Christ

English: John the Baptist baptizing Christ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Jesus said to his disciples: If you love me, you will do as I command. Then I will ask the Father to send you the Holy Spirit who will helpyou and always be with you.” John 14:15-16, (CEV)

One of the real issues in modern Christianity is heroism and spiritual egoism. A lot of myths and mysticism has been built into things far from what God really wanted them to be. One of such things is our relationship with the Holy Spirit. It’s been by many people taught that we “have to be special to relate with him” and that “when we have him we are so much more special than other Christians” These are not absolute truths. We are special because we are God’s children, saved by grace, through the blood of Jesus Christ. All who have received Jesus Christ into their lives can receive the Holy Spirit. Your life as a believer filled with the Holy Spirit will be more fulfilling, victorious and productive. All children of God are special to him.

This Holy Spirit came as our helper and comforter – that is, he is here to help us and not to make things difficult. The Holy Spirit has been described as being very “fragile” and will vanish at the slightest provocation. If that is absolutely true then he won’t bother coming. The best of men is very volatile and unworthy of a “fragile Holy Spirit”.

Psalm 103: 8 – 10 says “The Lord is merciful! He is kind and patient, and his love never fails. The Lord won’t always be angry and point out our sins; he doesn’t punish us as our sins deserve.” (CEV)

The Holy Spirit knows who we are before creation. He came to help us live successful lives as children of God. He knows we can’t cope with life’s pressures and temptations. He knows our limitations and steps in to help us when in need. He knows we have tendencies to draw-back from battles that we ought to stand our ground. He knows we are hard at hearing when it comes to spiritual things.

In my life, I have found him as a friend. I have been a Christian for many years and I see myself a normal person. I have emotions like everyone and I have had both mountain top and lowest valley experiences. One thing that has kept me going is the love, comfort and tolerance of the Holy Spirit. Sometimes I have found it tedious to study my Bible and burdensome to pray. I have been sluggish on many occasions to hear and obey the voice of the Holy Spirit. I had at least two occasions when God used children to speak to me before my “eyes” were opened to see where he is leading me. What I am saying is that, if the Holy Spirit can bear with me, he can bear with you. One thing I do is to make efforts, no matter how difficult it might seem, to keep following and learning from him. I am sure he is happy when I do things right and he is patient with me when I miss the mark.

I have found him a friend indeed. He is my helper, my comforter and teacher. He loves me. You can enjoy the same relationship with him.

Comments on: "Holy Spirit is A Friend Indeed" (2)

  1. […] Holy Spirit is A Friend Indeed (hspcomfort.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

